The painters bench and other peoples work

I’ve started the painters bench. I bought some wood in the week, but it wasn’t the same size as the plan.

Couldn’t get wood 12″ wide, or 1″ thick. Got wood 200mm wide (about 8″). which i reckon will be ok for my bum – or will encourage me to not sit down on the job too long.

The bench in the plan was also 3foot long – which i drew out on the workbench and i thought it looked a little too big. So i’m making the seat 700mm long and 200mm wide. I’ve cut the legs to length (350mm) and the stretchers.

Thats all i got done, except…

  • I learnt how to be a good workshop helper. When someone is cutting a long piece of wood, you can hold up the end.
  • some pythagoras – how to make a right angled triangle (a square) – especially good for big projects – like laying decking.  Make a 3, 4, 5, triangle (3feet, 3 metres, 3 whatever)

had a few chats – people are making cool stuff

here’s a couple of them…

Half square joint cross and picture frame with mitred half joint.

Half-Joint-CrossPictureFrame

2 thoughts on “The painters bench and other peoples work

  1. I have realised I need a desk. That may be a little adventurous for me though? Since leaving class last night I have been looking at all things made of wood in a different light…
    Helen x

    Like

Leave a Reply

